Mumbai Indians Players to Score a Hundred in IPL

With five titles in 11 seasons, Mumbai Indians are undoubtedly among the most prestigious and successful franchises in IPL. At least, before 2023, they were undoubtedly the frontrunner, with five IPL trophies to their name. That record was leveled when Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won their fifth IPL trophy this season.

Mumbai Indians owes its success to its batters to an extent. This blog will look at five top batters with centuries to their names while wearing that blue jersey. These batters, especially Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, and Cameron Green, are very popular in IPL betting.

 Players Who Have Scored Hundreds for Mumbai Indians in IPL

As many as six batters have scored a hundred for one of the most popular franchises in the IPL. Sanath Jayasuriya was the first player to hit a century for Mumbai Indians, while Cameron Green was the latest player to do so. Here’s the list of players who have scored a century for Mumbai Indians in IPL. 

  1. Sanath Jayasuriya – 114* vs Chennai Super Kings (IPL 2008)
  2. Sachin Tendulkar – 100* vs Kochi Tuskers (IPL 2011)
  3. Rohit Sharma – 109* vs Kolkata Knight Riders (IPL 2012) 
  4. Lendl Simmons – 100* vs Kings XI Punjab (IPL 2014)
  5. Suryakumar Yadav – 103* vs Gujarat Titans (IPL 2023)
  6. Cameron Green – 100* vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (IPL 2023)
  •  Sanath Jayasuriya

    The Sri Lankan great Sanath Jayasuriya was the first Mumbai Indians batter to have slammed a century. He had scored an unbeaten 114 off just 48 balls, which came against the Chennai Super Kings during the IPL 2008. Chennai had batted first and posted a score of 156/6. In reply, Mumbai Indians were spearheaded by Jayasuriya as he showed no mercy to the Chennai bowlers. The Mumbai outfit would steamroll Chennai Super Kings, winning the match by nine wickets and 37 balls to spare.

  •  Sachin Tendulkar

    After Jayasuriya, Sachin Tendulkar became the second batter to score an IPL century for Mumbai Indians. He slammed 100* off 66 balls against the Kochi Tuskers Kerala at the Wankhede Stadium during the 2011 edition. Mumba Indians batting first posted 182/2 thanks to a flawless batting by the Master Blaster. Unfortunately, Kochi Tuskers would chase this total down, riding on Mahela Jayawardene’s fifty and an 81 by Brendon McCullum (81). It remains Tendulkar’s only century in the 20-over format.


  •  Lendl Simmons

    West Indies opener Lendl Simmons, playing in his first IPL season, made a 100 off 61 balls against the Kings XI Punjab, now Punjab Kings, in the IPL 2014 edition at Mohali. The home side had batted first and were restricted to 156/8. In reply, Mumbai Indians made a blazing start thanks to Simmons, who smashed 14 fours and two sixes to bring up his first and only IPL hundred. Rohit Sharma’s men won the match by seven wickets.


  • Rohit Sharma

    Rohit Sharma slammed his maiden IPL century, an unbeaten 109 against Kolkata Knight Riders during the 2012 edition. It was the Eden Gardens where the teams took each other on, and the pitch was slow and low. The ‘Hitman’ came to bat at No. 3 and thrashed the likes of Brett Lee and Jacques Kallis. Mumbai posted 182/1 thanks to Rohit’s astute innings. In reply, the Knight Riders fell short by 27 runs.


  •  Suryakumar Yadav

    Known as SKY, Suryakumar Yadav Mumbai has completely revolutionized the art of batting. He has a huge array of shots up his sleeve and makes batting look effortless, which makes him a dangerman for the opposition bowlers. This skill set was displayed when Mumbai Indians took on Gujarat Titans at Wankhede in the 2023 season. Mumbai batted first, and Suryaumar Yadav lit up Wankhede. He made an unbeaten 103, which saw 11 fours and six sixes. The hosts piled up 218, which was too much for the Titans as they lost the match by 27 runs.


  •  Cameron Green

    Cameron Green became the sixth player to hit an IPL hundred for Mumbai Indians when he wreaked havoc on Sunrisers Hyderabad bowlers at Wankhede in the IPL 2023 season. Chasing 201 at Wankhede, the all-rounder switched on the carnage mode. Green, bought by the franchise for a record fee in the auction, smashed eight sixes and as many fours as the five-time champions chased down the target with 12 balls to spare. 


 Concluding Thoughts 

Over the years, Mumbai Indians have carved out some of the finest modern-day batters – full marks to their scouting departments who have attended local league games and picked up promising talents. Also, legendary names like Jayasuriya, Tendulkar, and Rohit have lived up to their hype.